Short Fiction Review – Martin Cahill and Nancy Hightower

Short fiction is a new realm for me. I’m completely fascinated with structure and how people write, so I’m taking a critical look at short fiction magazines lately as a sort of hobby of mine. I am lucky enough to count several writers among my friends, including Martin Cahill and Nancy Hightower, and it’s been a privilege to read their recently published short stories. I am blown away by their talent, and I wanted to share my thoughts on each of their stories here.

coverI discovered Nancy’s story, “Bound,” when she read it at the New York Review of Science Fiction reading series earlier in the year. I have a problem with fidgeting at readings, but this time I was completely engrossed in the story, and I knew I had to read it again when it came out in Bourbon Penn in February. This story is very surreal, and what I love about it is that you don’t really know what’s real and what’s imaginary, but it has enough emotional depth and engagement with the characters that you know what you WANT to be real. You can read the full story for free here. Tell me what you think in the comments!

Nightmare_19_April_2014-200x300The second story, “It Was Never the Fire,” by my friend Martin Cahill, is the second of his that I’ve had the pleasure of reading, but the first published story that the rest of you absolutely should read yourselves. This story was published today in the April issue of Nightmare Magazine, so a hearty congratulations goes out to Marty! Marty is a very talented new writer who is about to start a new adventure this summer at Clarion Writer’s Workshop in San Diego (I’m completely jealous), and after having read his work, I can see him becoming a very strong voice in the genre in the future. “It Was Never the Fire” is a beautifully poetic, dark, and surreal story that just grabs hold of you and doesn’t let go. I devoured this one. Marty has a gift with the way he uses language to instantly captivate the reader and bring them right into the story. I’m really looking forward to seeing what else he comes up with in the future. GO READ THIS STORY NOW. It’s free, and I want to know if you love it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

